AHA Journal Rankings Consultation

Because increasingly universities, job applications and the Australian Research Council (ARC) have been requiring academics to justify the quality of their work, the AHA Executive has made the decision to develop a rankings system to assist in the process. This is a pragmatic response to developments within the tertiary sector. Increasingly, universities have been designing Read more …

AHA/Honest History: AHA Conference 2019 Teacher Scholarship Recipient

The AHA would like to thank all who applied for the inaugural AHA/Honest History Teacher Scholarship. The scheme supports a secondary school History teacher to attend the annual Australian Historical Association Conference to promote engagement between History teachers and the broader historical community. Funding for this scheme is made possible by a generous donation from Honest History Read more …

Past Tense, Present Tension, 2019 HTAV Annual Conference Early Bird Registrations Open

25-26 July 2019, CQ Functions, Melbourne  The History Teachers’ Association Victoria 2019 Annual Conference, themed Past Tense, Present Tension will feature an impressive range of workshops, lectures and practical seminars that will provide ideas for engaging classroom strategies, activities and pedagogy to help build on the learning outcomes of students.  Early Bird Registrations close 12 July 2019  Read more …

AHA Submissions to NAA Tune Review, ARC ANZSRC Review, Future Humanities Workforce Consultation

The AHA Executive has made submissions to three reviews relevant to the history discipline in Australia: the NAA Tune Review on the purpose, role and functions of the NAA; the ARC Review of the Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification; and the AAH Future Humanities Workforce Consultation on the challenges and opportunities facing Australia’s humanities-trained workforce. Read more …

Congratulations to Philip Deery and Anita Stelmach, joint winners of the Wakefield Press Essay Prize

The History Council of South Australia have announced joint winners of the Wakefield Press Essay Prize. First essay prize winner is Professor Philip Deery for his essay ‘Spying in South Australia: “Comrade Anne” and ASIO’s infiltration of the South Australian Communist Party’. Second essay winner is Flinders University PhD student, Anita Stelmach, who won the Read more …

AIATSIS National Indigenous Research Conference: Research for the 21st Century Registrations Open

1-3 July 2019, Queensland University of Technology  The 2019 conference will build on previous themes of impact and engagement, to explore the interweaving strands of capacity of research and the transformative capability of Indigenous research for the 21st century. Full details of the program can be found online.  Registrations close 7 June 2019  Further information 

Congratulations to Gemmia Burden who has been awarded the 2019 John Oxley Library Honorary Fellowship

Congratulations to Gemmia Burden who has been awarded the 2019 John Oxley Library Honorary Fellowship for her project Private lives, public knowledge: Gendered collecting and intimacies of place in Queensland c. 1842-1900. The Fellowship provides researchers the opportunity to uncover Queensland’s rich and diverse history utilising the resources of the John Oxley Library and State Library of Queensland.  Further information 

Congratulations to Alexia Moncrieff for winning the 2018 Bryan Gandevia Prize for Australian Military-Medical History

Congratulations to Alexia Moncrieff, who has been awarded the 2018 Bryan Gandevia Prize for Australian Military-Medical History for her thesis, titled ‘“We are entitled to some control”: the Australian Army Medical Corps in the First World War.’ The prize rewards an outstanding honours, masters or doctoral thesis on a significant subject on military, social, or medical aspects of Australian wartime history.  Further information. 

Local Communities, Global Networks: AHA Conference Registration Open

A reminder that conference registrations are still open. Please note that there is an invoice option of 30-day payments for those who need it. The draft conference program is also available on the conference website.   Presenter Registrations close 1 June 2019   Attendance Registrations close 7 July 2019  Full details