AHA Submissions to NAA Tune Review, ARC ANZSRC Review, Future Humanities Workforce Consultation

The AHA Executive has made submissions to three reviews relevant to the history discipline in Australia: the NAA Tune Review on the purpose, role and functions of the NAA; the ARC Review of the Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification; and the AAH Future Humanities Workforce Consultation on the challenges and opportunities facing Australia’s humanities-trained workforce. Read more …

Congratulations to Philip Deery and Anita Stelmach, joint winners of the Wakefield Press Essay Prize

The History Council of South Australia have announced joint winners of the Wakefield Press Essay Prize. First essay prize winner is Professor Philip Deery for his essay ‘Spying in South Australia: “Comrade Anne” and ASIO’s infiltration of the South Australian Communist Party’. Second essay winner is Flinders University PhD student, Anita Stelmach, who won the Read more …

AIATSIS National Indigenous Research Conference: Research for the 21st Century Registrations Open

1-3 July 2019, Queensland University of Technology  The 2019 conference will build on previous themes of impact and engagement, to explore the interweaving strands of capacity of research and the transformative capability of Indigenous research for the 21st century. Full details of the program can be found online.  Registrations close 7 June 2019  Further information 

Congratulations to Gemmia Burden who has been awarded the 2019 John Oxley Library Honorary Fellowship

Congratulations to Gemmia Burden who has been awarded the 2019 John Oxley Library Honorary Fellowship for her project Private lives, public knowledge: Gendered collecting and intimacies of place in Queensland c. 1842-1900. The Fellowship provides researchers the opportunity to uncover Queensland’s rich and diverse history utilising the resources of the John Oxley Library and State Library of Queensland.  Further information 

Congratulations to Alexia Moncrieff for winning the 2018 Bryan Gandevia Prize for Australian Military-Medical History

Congratulations to Alexia Moncrieff, who has been awarded the 2018 Bryan Gandevia Prize for Australian Military-Medical History for her thesis, titled ‘“We are entitled to some control”: the Australian Army Medical Corps in the First World War.’ The prize rewards an outstanding honours, masters or doctoral thesis on a significant subject on military, social, or medical aspects of Australian wartime history.  Further information. 

Local Communities, Global Networks: AHA Conference Registration Open

A reminder that conference registrations are still open. Please note that there is an invoice option of 30-day payments for those who need it. The draft conference program is also available on the conference website.   Presenter Registrations close 1 June 2019   Attendance Registrations close 7 July 2019  Full details  

Congratulations to Timothy Calabria who has been awarded the Francis Forbes Society for Australian Legal History prize for 2018

Congratulations to Timothy Calabria whose paper “The Bungalow and the Transformation of the ‘Half-Caste’ Category in Central Australia” has won the Francis Forbes Society for Australian Legal History prize for 2018.  This prize is awarded for the best paper presented by a higher degree student or early career researcher at the annual law and history conference and subsequently submitted Read more …