2018 Awards and Prizes Winners

The Australian Historical Association is delighted to announce the winners of its 2018 prizes and awards. Winners were announced on Thursday 5 July 2016, at the AHA Annual Conference dinner in Canberra.

(Click on links to read judges’ citations.)

The Jill Roe Prizeis awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university.

The Serle Award is given biennially to the best postgraduate thesis in Australian History awarded during the previous two years.

The Allan Martin Award is a research fellowship to assist early career historians further their research in Australian history.

The Kay Daniels Award recognises outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published in 2016 or 2017.

The W.K. Hancock Prize recognises and encourages an Australian scholar who has published a first book in any field of history in 2014 or 2015.

The Magarey Medal for Biography is awarded biennially to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject. It is jointly administered by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL). This year’s winner was announced by the ASAL on Tuesday 3 July 2018.

  • The winner is Alexis Wright, Tracker (Giramondo)